Song of the Day

Song of the Day: Allo Darlin – Kiss Your Lips

Posted on by Ricky in Song of the Day | 1 Comment

Toronto – Most people from Hong Kong are usually fashionably late. This is now my excuse for not discovering twee/indie pop outfit Allo Darlin until around now. I’m just fashionably late.

Allo Darlin is a London based band featuring the singing talents of Australia’s Elizabeth Morris. Call it a Commonwealth connection. They released a self-titled album last year that was well received by everyone. With a lovely blend of ’60s inspired folk pop sound and a summery disposition, Allo Darlin seems primed for some listening in these next couple months. Check out this track called “Kiss Your Lips” which features an excerpt from a well known band.

B-Side / Song of the Day: Wild Beasts – Catherine Wheel

Posted on by Ricky in Song of the Day | Leave a comment

Toronto – I haven’t quite warmed up to Wild Beast’s new album Smother as much as I would have expected to after Two Dancers. I’m not sure if it’s because the album does not stick as easily or maybe I just don’t have enough time these days to fully embrace it. Either way, I listened to this b-side the other day, primarily because it was called “Catherine Wheel.”

Any self respecting music fan would know that Catherine Wheel was the 90s UK shoegazey kind of band that was responsible for songs like “Black Metallic” and “Crank.” Sadly, I don’t think this track is about Catherine Wheel, but it’s still a solid song and it’s a b-side for the single Bed Of Nails. I didn’t know b-sides still existed. Check it out.

Here are some tour dates:
Tue. July 12 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Café Live w/ Marques Toliver
Wed. July 13 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge w/ Marques Toliver
Thu. July 14 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge w/ Marques Toliver
Sat. July 16 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Fri. Sep. 16 – Austin, TX @ Austin City Limits
Tue. Sep. 20 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Wed. Sep. 21 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Thu. Sep. 22 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
Tue. Sep. 27 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club
Wed. Sep. 28 – Montreal, QC @ Cabaret Mile-End
Thu. Sep. 29 – Toronto, ON @ Mod Club
Fri. Sep. 30 – Detroit, MI @ Magic Bag
Sat. Oct. 1 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Mon. Oct. 3 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall
Tue. Oct. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ Varsity Theater
Fri. Oct. 7 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune
Sat. Oct. 8 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Sun. Oct. 9 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Tue. Oct. 11 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Rio Theatre
Thu. Oct. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex
Sat. Oct. 15 – Mexico City, MX @ Corona Capital Festival

Song/Remix of the Day: Adele – Someone Like You (BuffetLibre Remix)

Posted on by Ricky in Remixes, Song of the Day | Leave a comment

Toronto – Adele pretty much rules the world right now. When Justin Bieber’s girlfriend and Beyonce can not knock you off the top of the charts, you know you got something special going on.

This is a remix of the the single “Someone Like You” by some of my favorite remixers out there, Buffet Libre. It takes the heart breaking piano ballad that Adele composed for her sophomore album 21 and turns it into something more … dance-able, because let’s face it – it’s summer time and it’s time to have more fun. Dance beats and friendly synthesizers turn this track into something you can throw on the dance floor where you’ll probably see a few girls dancing and crying at the same time. Reach for the tissues and bust a move.

Song of the Day: San Cisco – Golden Revolver

Posted on by Ricky in Song of the Day | Leave a comment

Toronto – In my never ending quest to find the perfect summer song, I stumbled upon San Cisco‘s track “Golden Revolver.” A warm track featuring gang choruses, Vampire Weekend-ish guitar riffs and the cowbell, Golden Revolver certainly makes the case for being one of the better summer tracks this year.

San Cisco is a band from Australia and are an extremely young band, having just recently graduated high school. It’s only fitting that these Aussies write some splendid summery songs, seeing how every day is summer in Australia. Check it out.